Gemstone Honors Program

Class of 2013 Teams

B3: Blood-Brain Barrier

Section: 0102
Mentor: Dr. Helim Aranda-Espinoza, 5-8250, helim@umd.edu
Librarian: Ms. Joscelyn Langholt, 5-9120, langholt@umd.edu
Members: Sakib Adnan, Regina Borsellino, Alice He, SangHyuk Lee, Somdutta Mukherjee, Victor Peng, Karthya Potti, Kelly Shih, Janina Vaikus, Victor Wang, Rani Woo, Robert Zhang
Team Website
Keywords: blood-brain barrier, vascular cell, nanoparticles, drug delivery B3: Blood-Brain Barrier

BIO-COUNTER: Bioweapon Inhibition and Organized Containment Operating Unit for the Negation of Terrorist Entities and Radicals

Section: 0101
Mentor: Dr. Jeffrey Hermann, 5-5433, jwh2@umd.edu
Librarian: Mr. Jim Miller, 5-9152, jmiller2@umd.edu
Members: Kyle Jamolin, Jonathan Saltzman, Darrell Schaefer, Sebastian Serrano, Aaron Shim, Joshua Sloane
Team Website
Keywords: anthrax, Washington D.C., anthrax attack

DIET: Dietary Information and Evaluation Technologies

Section: 0104
Mentors: Dr. Nadine Sahyoun, 5-8774, nsahyoun@umd.edu
Librarian: Ms. Judy Markowitz, 4-1316, judym@umd.edu
Members: Britini Cunningham, Amanda Dols, Emily Dumm, Angelica Eng, Kate Franke, Alison Gross, Jonathan Helinek, Jonathan Indig, Joshua Leibowitz, Alexander O'Connor, Timothy Russell, Aroon Sharma, Min Yan
Team Website
Keywords: self efficacy, diet, fruits, vegetables, diet-tracking

Food Deserts

Section: 0105
Mentor: Dr. Stephanie Grutzmacher, 5-6359, grutz@umd.edu
Librarian: Ms. Judy Markowitz, 4-1316, judym@umd.edu
Members: Carolina Aguiar, Valerie Caplan, Emily Chang, Sophia Chang, Jennifer Kuo, Moses Lahey, Rutvij Pandya, Katherine Richard, Kelci Schexnayder, Monique Thornton, Rachel White
Team Website
Keywords: nutrition, farmer's market, low-income families, SNAP, WIC

Gene Therapy

Section: 0106
Mentor: Dr. Ioannis Bossis, 4-8042, bossisi@umd.edu
Librarian: Mr. Jim Miller, 5-9152, jmiller2@umd.edu
Members: Daniel Atlas, Elizabeth Buckshaw, David Hanna, Jennifer Lannon, Alia Mahmud, Mariya Mirvis, Anna Pham, Nadira Ramnarain, Paul Randazzo, Michelle Safferman, Angelina She, Jeremy Zuckerberg
Team Website
Keywords: gene therapy, familial hypercholesterolemia, rabbits, high cholesterol, adeno-associated virus

IEDOB: Increasing Energy Density of Batteries

Section: 0201
Mentor: Dr. Chunseng Wang, 5-0652, cswang@umd.edu
Librarian: Ms. Nevenka Zdravkovska, 5-9144, nevenka@umd.edu
Members: Asif Ahmed, Jan Babiuch-Hall, Taarika Babu, Gary Chen, Desiree Devries, Karen Dunford, Madara Jayatilake, Emily Li, Scott Wingate, Joseph Yan
Team Website
Keywords: lithium-ion batteries, graphene silicon, nanoparticles, stability

KERMIT: Knowledge of Endocrine Reactions Manifesting from Intoxicants in Septic Tanks

Section: 0202
Mentor: Dr. Steven Turley, 410-827-8056, sturley@umd.edu
Librarian: Mr. Jim Miller, 5-9152, jmiller2@umd.edu
Members: Amy Chen, Alma Gonzalez, David Hue, Richa Kalsi, Tanya Kapoor, Hae Park, Samuel Park, Alex Proctor, Alexander Ridgway, Andrew Taverner, Nikola Vujcic
Team Website
Keywords: poultry, poultry litter, zenopus laevis, contaminates, frog, Chesapeake bay

MAGIC: Medical and Genetic Information Concerns

Section: 0203
Mentors: Dr. Ritu Agarwal, 5-3121, ragar@umd.ed, Dr. Kislaya Prasad, 5-2194, kprasad@umd.edu
Librarian: Ms. Nedelina Tchangalova, 5-9151, nedelina@umd.edu
Members: Sathvik Balaram, Tyler Dunn, Michael Harris, Joshua Kohn, Hai Le, Christina Lee, Ori Lieberman, Tiffany Lin, Aaron Sachs
Team Website
Keywords: genetic sequencing, privacy, ethics

MILK

Section: 0103
Mentor: Dr. Nam Sun Wang, 5-1910, nsw@umd.edu
Librarians: Mr. Bob Kackley, 5-9155, rkackley@umd.edu; Ms. Lily Griner, 5-9278, griner@umd.edu
Members: Thomas Blackmon, Jonathan Chang, Amy Cheng, Tiffany Jen, Hannah Kravis, Raishay Lin, Michael Lu, Erin Ong, Tanya Pakzad, Nima Sarfaraz, Yvonne Shiau, Jacklyn Wong
Team Website
Keywords: milk, spoiled food, pH-sensitive indicators, milk cartons

ONLINE: Observing the Nuances of Learning in Non-traditional Environments

Section: 0204
Mentor: Dr. Michael Zachariah, 5-4311, mrz@umd.edu
Librarian: Mr. David Wilt, 5-9141, dwilt@umd.edu
Members: Maureen Bowers, Neal Freyman, Elizabeth McLellan, Brian Paxton, Jeremy Spiegel
Team Website
Keywords: online courses, higher learning, internet

RODENT: Reducing Obesity and Disease with Effective Nutritional Therapies

Section: 0205
Mentor: Dr. Brian Bequette, 5-8457, bbequett@umd.edu
Librarian: Mr. Jim Miller, 5-9152, jmiller2@umd.edu
Members: Shelby Brumback, Jamin Byun, Jacob Cohen, Feili Huang, Ghazal Kango, Anastasiya Latushko, Michael Lin, Alexander Mamunes, Marko Modric, Kenneth Rosenberg, Oliver Sun, Christina Thomas, Michelle Yoo
Team Website
Keywords: obesity, mice, diet,metabolism

Solar Campus

Section: 0206
Mentor: Dr. Charlie Carr, 5-7389, charli@umd.edu
Librarian: Ms. Nevenka Zdravkovska, 5-9144, nevenka@umd.edu
Members: Sougata Biswas, Jason Connolly, Kevin Fries, Christopher Grant, Kevin Hwang, Hoyoung Kang, Dana Motabar, Christopher Reavis, Shervin Sepehri
Team Website
Keywords: photovoltaic cell, heat flux, sustainability

SWAMP: Superior Wetlands Against Malicious Pollutants

Section: 0207
Mentor: Dr. David Tilley, 5-8027, dtilley@umd.edu
Librarians: Mr. Bob Kackley, 5-9155, rkackley@umd.edu/ Ms. Lily Griner, 5-9278, griner@umd.edu
Members: Arsh Agarwal, Allison Bradford, Kerry Cheng, , Ramita Dewan, Enrique Disla, Addison Goodley, Nathan Lim, Lisa Liu, Lucas Place, Raevathi Ramadorai, Jaishri Shankar, Michael Wellen, Diane Ye, and Edward Yu
Team Website
Keywords: plants, Chesapeake Bay, wetlands, nitrate, organic carbon