Gemstone Honors Program

Class of 2012 Teams

Team AMIRA AMIRA: Analyzing Movement of Infants at Risk for Autism Spectrum Disorder

Section: 0106
Mentor: John Aloimonos, jvaloimo@umd.edu
Librarian: Mr. Glenn Moreton, 5-9290, moreton@umd.edu
Members: Eileen Chai, Jillian Chavis, Kevin Chodnicki, Timothy Crisci, Nathan Destler, John Graham, Kesshi Jordan, Richard Landa, Conrad Merkle, Soh Park, Christopher Paxton, Rachita Sood, James Tanner, Brendan Wray.
Team Website
Keywords: autism, diagnosis, infants, movement, passive motion capture

Team ANTIDOTE ANTIDOTE: Analyzing New Treatments for Infectious Disease with Obtained Therapeutic Extracts

Section: 0105
Mentor: Dr. Andrea Ottesen, 5-4351, aottesen@umd.edu
Librarians: Mr. Bob Kackley, 5-9155, rkackley@umd.edu/ Ms. Lily Griner, 5-9278, griner@umd.edu
Members: Noha Eshera, Song Fu, Angela Hou, Liv Johannessen, Rahel Kifle, Nathan King, Eunsol Lee, Ke Ma, Gowri Nadmichettu, Alex Peters, Gregory Polley, Steven Ramiro, Crystal Wang, Mengda Zhang.
Team Website
Keywords: Hepatitis C, drug treatment, Phyllanthus niruri

BALANCE: Bettering Aged Living through Alternative Neural Corrective Exercises

Section: 0203
Mentor: Dr. Jae Kum Shim, 5-8492, jkshim@umd.edu
Librarian: Ms. Svetla Baykoucheva , 5-9080 , sbaykouc@umd.edu
Members: Marla Benedek, Emily Green, Jared Lindenberg, Yu Lun, Adina Schwartz, Mengge Shan, Tiancheng Wang, Kobena Waters.
Team Website
Keywords: falls, prevention, elderly, resistance training, strength, balance

BioFUELS: Furthering the Utilization of Energy from Land and Soil

Section: 0103
Mentor: Dr. Gary Felton, 5-8039, gfelton@umd.edu
Librarians: Ms. Nevenka Zdravkovska, 5-9144, nevenka@umd.edu
Members: Vishney Ambalavanar, Michael Kang, Felicia Kulp, Theodore Michaels, Alexander Muroyama, Saad Rehman, Olufemi Sokoya, Aalap Trivedi, Kaiyi Xie.
Team Website
Keywords: biofuels, Micanthus x giganteus, land quality, soil, cost benefit analysis

BLAZE: Bettering the Lives of Animals in Zoo Environments

Section: 0102
Mentor: Dr. Kaci Thompson, 5-2160, kaci@umd.edu
Librarian: Mr. Timothy Hackman, 4-8521, thackman@umd.edu
Members: Logan Anbinder, Amelia Cordell, Gretchen Downey, Kelly Freudenberger, Shabaab Kamal, Thao Khuc, Joshua Lacey, Caitlin Moore, Emmarie Myers, Andrea Schmidt.
Team Website
Keywords: zoos, animals, stress, intervention strategies, environmental enrichment

FACE: Facial Analysis for Communicating Expression

Section: 0205
Mentor: Dr. Rama Chellappa, 5-3656, rama@cfar.umd.edu
Librarian: Mr. Jim Miller, 5-9152, jmiller2@umd.edu
Members: Douglas Astler, Harrison Chau, Kailin Hsu, Alvin Hua, Andrew Kannan, Lydia Lei, Melissa Nathanson, Esmaeel Paryavi, Kelly Ripple, Michelle Rosen, Hayato Unno, Carol Wang, Syeda Zaidi, Xuemin Zhang.
Team Website

Keywords: facial recognition, assistive devices, blindness, nonverbal communication

Team FLIP FLIP: File Lending in Proximity

Section: 0201
Mentor: Dr. Jim Purtilo, 5-2706, purtilo@cs.umd.edu
Librarians: Mr. Stephen Henry, 5-9256, shenry@umd.edu, Mr. Jim Miller, 5-9152, jmiller2@umd.edu
Members: Adam Alabrash, Bobak Azarbayejani, Andy Chang, William Franklin, Hugo Hall, James Polivka, Zhuang Shao, Xinyu Weng.
Team Website
Keywords: geolocation, file sharing, internet, proximate networks

FRESH : Fixing Refrigeration Efficiency to Sustain Health

Section: 0202
Mentor: Dr. Sameer Shah, 5-9958, sameer@umd.edu
Librarians: Mr. Bob Kackley, 5-9155, rkackley@umd.edu/ Ms. Lily Griner, 5-9278, griner@umd.edu
Members: Matthew Conway, Kelly Daniluk, Jason Felder, Andrew Foo, Amina Goheer, Veena Katikineni, Anthony Mazzella, Young Park, George Peabody, Divya Raghavachari, Sahil Shah, Ravi Vaswani.
Team Website
Keywords: vaccines, distribution, temperature, phase chain material

GREEN JUSTICE: Geared Reassessment of Ecological and Environmental Needs to Justly Utilize Sustainable Techniques in Communities Everywhere

Section: 0104
Mentor: Dr. Alex Chen, 5-6798, achen@umd.edu
Librarian: Dr. Alan Mattlage, 5-9065, mattlage@umd.edu, Ms. Lara Otis,
5-9260, lotis@umd.edu
Members: Jessica Albrecht, Blair Broser, Brendan George, Caleb Hii, Vy Nguyen, Rachana Patel, Najeff Waseem.
Team Website
Keywords: waste reduction, recycling, Hyattsville, Maryland, program evaluations, attitudes

LEAF: Light Energy in the Agriculture of the Future

Section: 0204
Mentor: Dr. Ray Adomaitis, 5-2960, adomaiti@umd.edu
Librarian: Ms. Nedelina Tchangalova, 5-9151, nedelina@umd.edu
Members: Thomas Brooks, Sean Collins, Alexander Edgerton, Blaine Ford, Preetha Gautam, Matthew Goldfinger, Ian Hall, Billy Huang, Michael Lanzo, Melissa McGowan, Taylor Myers, Christopher Salata, Andy Zheng.
Team Website
Keywords: solar energy, photovoltaics, concentration, costs, sustainability

LEGS: Ligament Elasticity post Graft Surgery

Section: 0101
Mentor: Dr. Adam Hsieh, 5-7397, hsieh@umd.edu
Librarians: Mr. Bob Kackley, 5-9155, rkackley@umd.edu/ Ms. Lily Griner, 5-9278, griner@umd.edu
Members: Ayushi Chandramani, Matthew Costales, Benjamin Garbus, Joseph Hartstein, Kelley Heffner, Rupal Jain, Kelly Klein, Alicia McDonnell, Payal Patel, Victoria Stefanelli, Jenny Wang, Joseph Weinberg, Tina Zhang.
Team Website
Keywords: ACL construction, anterior cruciate ligament, grafts, surgery, tension, collagen