Gemstone Honors Program

Class of 2011 Teams

BREATHE: Bay Revitalization Efforts Against the Hypoxic Environment

Section: 0101
Mentors: Dr. Kevin Selner, 410-798-1283, slnerk@si.edu
Librarian: Mr. Bob Kackley, 5-9155, rkackley@umd.edu
Members: Rebecca Certner, Haena Cho, Alexander Gibbons, Christine Kim, Tina Liu, Hannah Miller, Neelam Parikh, Natalya Savranskaya, YiAn Sun, Matthew Wooten.
Team Website
Keywords: algae, algal blooms, Chesapeake Bay, sediment, flocculation

Cogeneration Technology

Section: 0102
Mentor: Dr. Charlie Carr, 5-7389, charli@umd.edu
Librarian: Ms. Nevenka Zdravkovska, 5-9144, nevenka@umd.edu
Members: Christopher DeCaro, Christine He, Colin Kennedy, Michelle Parks, Dylan Rebois, Ethan Schaler, Jeffrey Tseng, Kenneth Voshell.
Team Website
Keywords: combined heat and power, electrical power, thermal power, power generation, universities, sustainability

Cognitive Training

Section: 0103
Mentor: Dr. Michael Dougherty, 5-8423, mdougherty@psyc.umd.edu
Librarian: Mr. Glenn Moreton, 5-9290, moreton@umd.edu
Members: Timothy Briner, Jacob Buchanan, Sydnee Chavis, Sy-Yu Chen, Gregory Iannuzzi, Vadim Kashtelyan.
Team Website
Keywords: working memory, training, memory improvement, comprehension

CP2: Crime Prevention and Perception

Section: 0104
Mentor: Dr. Charles Wellford, 5-4701, cwellfor@umd.edu
Librarian: Ms. Barbara Lay, 5-9264, blay@umd.edu
Members: Camila Alvarado, Carl Burton, Vivey Wei-Yi Chen, Jessica Cutler, Luciana Debenedetti, Aleksandra Derkacheva, Valentina Lopez, Stephanie Von Numers.
Team Website
Keywords: crime, attitudes, fear, off-campus housing, cameras, closed-circuit television, College Park

FFA: Future Firefighting Advancement

Section: 0105
Mentor: Dr. Fred Mowrer, 5-3994, fmowrer@umd.edu
Librarian: Ms. Nedelina Tchangalova, 5-9151, nedelina@umd.edu
Members: Jennifer Au, Anthony Bonomo, Laura Freyman, Brian Kwong, Benjamin Li, Jessica Lieberman, Levon Mkrtchyan, Michael Price, Andrew Skoda, Mary Tellers, Andrew Tomaschko, Johnny Wu.
Team Website
Keywords: firefighters, fire sensors, decision-making, communication, fire annunciator control panels

Genes to Fuels

Section: 0106
Mentor: Dr. Jason Kahn, 5-0058, jdkahn@umd.edu
Librarian: Mr. Bob Kackley, 5-9155, rkackley@umd.edu
Members: Andrew Chang, Maria Chang, Chin-Hsiang Feng, Jasjeet Khural, Tana Luo, James McCarthy, Cory Mekelburg, Kelsey Nadig, Christine Perry, Sharad Thaper, Richard Urbanski, Pragun Vohra, Christian Weber, Justin Wong.
Team Website
Keywords: biofuels, algae, lipids, phytohormones, biodiesel, trans-zeatin-riboside, C. reinhardtii, sustainability

Grenergy

Section: 0201
Mentor: Dr. Joe Sullivan, 5-1626, jsull@umd.edu
Librarians: Ms. Nedelina Tchangalova, 5-9151, nedelina@umd.edu
Members: Eran Bar Noy, Mark Conley, Alfred Gan, Yonatan Gefen, Jana Lovell, Katherine Mann, Adin Shuchatowitz, Christine Tobin.
Team Website
Keywords: solar energy, solar cells, photovoltaic cells, pigments, sensitization, absorbtion

IMMUNE: Innovative Medicine against Maladies Utilizing Nutraceutical Enhancements

Section: 0202
Mentors: Dr. Lucy Yu, 5-0761, lyu5@umd.edu and Ms. Margaret Slavin, 5-4514, mms@umd.edu
Librarian: Mr. Jim Miller, 5-9152, jmiller2@umd.edu
Members: Lena Binzer, Rebecca Brinsko, Jessica Cha, Zao Chen, Sarah Green, Kelly Grob, Junjie Hao, Christina Hitz, Laura Li, Sowmya Swamy, Maxim Wolf, Mengmeng Xu, Mary Yanik.
Team Website
Keywords: antioxidants, diet, grape seeds, bread

Organ Storage & Hibernation

Section: 0204
Mentor: Dr. John Fisher, 5-7475, jpfisher@umd.edu
Librarian: Mr. Bob Kackley, 5-9155, rkackley@umd.edu
Members: Elizabeth Chen, Charles Chiang, Elyse Geibel, Steven Geng, Stevephen Hung, Kathleen Jee, Angela Lee, Christine Lim, Sara Moghaddam-Taaheri, Adam Pampori, Kathy Tang, Jessie Tsai, Diana Zhong.
Team Website
Keywords: organ transplant, heart, storage, hydrogen sulfide, mitochondria

Peace in Prisons

Section: 0205
Mentor: Dr. Arnett Gaston, 5-4641, agaston@umd.edu
Librarian: Ms. Judy Markowitz, 4-1316, judym@umd.edu
Members: Rima Bakhru, Sarah Dobson, Jarren Ginsburg, Henry Jin, Kevin Matuszak, Emmaline Mlawer, Max Nehl, Neha Pancholi, Zachary Rodgers, Jane Schulte, Monica Shim, Elizabeth Weiner, Rita Wu.
Team Website
Keywords: violence, attitudes, prisons, interventions, correctional facilities

Team Small Business Solutions
Small Business Solutions

Section: 0203
Mentor: Mr. Tom Mierzwa, 301-322-1976, tmierzwa@umd.edu
Librarian: Mr. Jim Miller, 5-9152, jmiller2@umd.edu
Members: Elizabeth Ahn, Michael Andrews, Esther Blinkoff, Nicholas Deckard, Akhila Iruku, Max Koehler, Jade Lee, Jeffrey Lue, Vidya Sathyamoorthy, Taylor Schulz.
Team Website
Keywords: software design, retail stores, customer relationship management, inventory control, small businesses

WAVES: Water And Versatile Energy Systems

Section: 0206
Mentor: Dr. Jim Duncan, 5-5260, duncan@umd.edu
Librarian: Ms. Nevenka Zdravkovska, 5-9144, nevenka@umd.edu
Members: Sean Henely, Laura Hereford, Mary Jung, Tatsuya Saito, Edward Toumayan, Sarah Watt, Melanie Wong.
Team Website
Keywords: wave energy, energy conversion, rotors, sustainability