Gemstone Honors Program

Class of 2010 Teams

Antiobiotic Resistance

Section: 0102
Mentor: Dr. Jianghong Meng, 5-1399, jmeng@umd.edu
Librarian: Mr. Tom Harrod, 5-7253, tharrod@umd.edu
Members: Twain Brown, Nicole Dupuy, Kourtney Johnson, Alina Kelman, Edward Kestler, William Richbourg, Daniel Shafer, Yee-Ann Soong.
Team Website
Keywords: antimicrobial-resistant Staphylococcus aureus, methicillin, S. Aureus, antimicrobials, Maryland, ground meat products

AUDIO: Assessing and Understanding Deaf Individuals' Occupations

Section: 0205
Mentor: Ms. Tracy Zeeger, 4-1493, zeeger@health.umd.edu
Librarian: Mr. Timothy Hackman, 4-8521, thackman@umd.edu
Members: Margarita Geller, Mariya Gorelik, Elizabeth Kim, Matthew Mosteller, Kelly Quinn, Meagan Rose.
Team Website
Keywords: communication, deaf, hard of hearing, jobs, employment

Carbon Sinks

Section: 0206
Mentor: Dr. Ning Zeng, 5-5377, zeng@umd.edu
Librarian: Mr. Tom Harrod, 5-7253, tharrod@umd.edu
Members: Jordan Adair, Marisa Cicale, Mark Hofberg, John Junghans, Heather Kerrick, George Luo, Michael Mercado, Samuel Oliver, Susan O'Neill, Daniel Remer, Matthew Schulzinger, Ryan Shofnos, Hannah Tolley, Wesley Tse
Team Website
Keywords: carbon cycles, carbon sequestration, decomposition, carbon dioxide, wood

CHIP

Section: 0103
Mentor: Dr. Pamela Abshire, 5-6629, pabshire@umd.edu
Librarian: Mr. Bob Kackley, 5-9155, rkackley@umd.edu
Members: Avi Bardack, Pratik Bhandari, James Doggett, Max Epstein, Nicolas Gagliolo, Steven Graff, Erik Li, Elaine Petro, Mark Sailey, Natalie Salaets, Benjamin Tousley, John Turner.
Team Website
Keywords: EMG, electromyographic biofeedback, hemiparetic gait, video games, rehabilitation

FISH

Section: 0104
Mentor: Dr. Curry Woods , 5-7974, curry@umd.edu
Librarian: Mr. Bob Kackley, 5-9155, rkackley@umd.edu and Mr. Jim Miller, 5-9152, jmiller2@umd.edu
Members: Matthew Douglas, Bradford Dubik, Sarah Haq, Yike Jiang, Tuquynh Le, Natalie Lemanski, Samantha Linkins, Genna McFarland, Kaitlyn Murphy, Sarah Peitzmeier, Aziz Rahman, Michael Salins, Catherine Theisen.
Team Website
Keywords: 17-ethynylestradiol, sperm, endocrine disrupting compounds, fish, striped bass

F.I.T.N.E.S.S.: Fun Implementation of Technology for New Exercise and Sport Styles

Section: 0105
Mentor: Ms. Brianne Rowh, 6-4418, rowhb@umd.edu
Librarian: Mr. David Wilt, 5-9141, dwilt@umd.edu
Members: Colin Cunningham, Sean Cunningham, Jojo Entsuah, Britney Gerstner, Christopher Higgins, Matthew Hirsh, Andrew McGowan, Alexander Schmid, Justin Taylor, Joseph Wildsmith.
Team Website
Keywords: activity, motvation, exercise, obesity, interactive video games

GABS: Grammar Acquisition in Bilingual Students

Section: 0106
Mentor: Dr. Rebecca Silverman, 5-6465, rdsilver@umd.edu
Librarian: Mr. Timothy Hackman, 4-8521, thackman@umd.edu
Members: Stephen Bergbauer, Akshay Goyal, Kassandra Gynther, Adam Jandorf, Syed Karim, Rachel Kirsch, Spenser Peterson, Nan Wang.
Team Website
Keywords: hispanic, language education, elementary, English, Spanish

HOPE: Hospital Optimal Productivity Enterprise

Section: 0201
Mentor: Dr. Bruce Golden, 5-2232, bgolden@umd.edu
Librarian: Ms. Zaida Diaz, 5-9156, zdiaz@umd.edu
Members: Nancy Johnson, Daniel Kalowitz, Jay Kellegrew, Benjamin Kubic, Joseph Lim, John Silberholz, Alexandra Simpson, Emily Sze, Ekta Taneja, Edward Tao.
Team Website
Keywords: hospital, emergency, resident education model, patient

ILL: Interactive Language Learning

Section: 0202
Mentors: Dr. Amitabh Varshney, 5-6761, varshney@umd.edu and Dr. Roberta Lavine, 5-6443, rlavine@umd.edu
Librarian: Mr. Jim Miller, 5-9152, jmiller2@umd.edu
Members: Joseph Caputo, Jennifer Dahne, Brett Holbert, Brittany Klein, Victoria Kriz, Keddy Liu, Austin Myers, Anna Rammelkamp, Dara Scher, Katherine Whittaker, Jason Young.
Team Website
Keywords: ESOL, English, computer game, Anne Arrundel County Public Schools

IMAC: Integrative Medicine and Cancer

Section: 0101
Mentor: Dr. Mark Kantor, 5-1018, mkantor@umd.edu
Librarian: Mr. Bob Garber, 5-9281, rgarber@umd.edu
Members: Peter Frechette, Stephanie Galanie, Anna Hung, Sarah Kim, Kelsey Merrick, Krupa Nataraj, Jessica Nooralian, Mihir Patel, Jessica Stevens, Vivian Wang, Albert Zhou.
Team Website
Keywords: Herbal dietary supplements, medicine, breast cancer, liver cell lines

MICE: Modifying and Improving Computer Ergonomics

Section: 0203
Mentor: Dr. Adam Hsieh, 5-7397, hsieh@umd.edu
Librarian: Ms. Nevenka Zdravkovska, 5-9144, nevenka@umd.edu
Members: Nicholas Asendorf, Melissa Bonnington, Kelly Lai, Allison Lehman, Dinesh Mahadeo, Walter Muench, Ryan Olver, Puja Patel, Padma Ravichandran, Jennifer Sichler.
Team Website
Keywords: work-related musculoskeletal disorders, WMSD, ergonomic, mouse

Snow-Melt

Section: 0204
Mentor: Dr. Charles Schwartz, 5-1962, schwartz@eng.umd.edu
Librarian: Mr. Jim Miller, 5-9152, jmiller2@umd.edu
Members: Jonathan Fliegel, Joshua Flyer, Matthew Katz, Alexander Le, Thoi Ngo, Kyle Roberts, Anthony Santoro, Charles Sun, Travis Weyforth.
Team Website
Keywords: heating, asphalt, pavement, snow